Dolly Parton's Empowering New Anthem Follows The Footsteps Of '9 To 5'

Photo: Getty Images

Dolly Parton’s new album has finally arrived! The legendary country singer debuted Run, Rose, Run on Friday (March 4). The new 12-track collection is the companion album to Parton’s upcoming novel, co-authored by bestselling author James Patterson.

So far, Parton has released two of the songs on the new album: “Big Dreams and Faded Jeans” and “Blue Bonnet Breeze.” On Friday, Parton also released the third single and lyric video from Run, Rose, Run, “Woman Up (And Take It Like A Man).” The latest single is “a fiery and inspirational track” aiming to encourage others not to give up, even in the face of doubt.

“I just think this song really suits both of the female characters in the book,” Parton said in a press release announcing her new album and single. “If you're going to be in this business you've got to toughen up! You gotta ‘woman up and take it like a man’ — be as good as or better than all these men...managers, record label folks and these other characters that give them a hard time in the story. So, this was one song that I think is kind of like another ‘9 to 5,’ another woman's anthem. I had all female voices on that one and I think it came out really good!”

Run, Rose, Run’s companion novel is set to release Monday (March 7), the same day Parton will host the Academy of Country Music Awards from Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas. Find the full Run, Rose, Run track list here:

Side A:

  1. Run
  2. Big Dreams and Faded Jeans
  3. Demons (Guest Artist Ben Haggard)
  4. Driven
  5. Snakes In The Grass
  6. Blue Bonnet Breeze

Side B:

  1. Woman Up (And Take It Like A Man)
  2. Firecracker
  3. Secrets
  4. Lost and Found (Guest Artist Joe Nichols)
  5. Dark Night, Bright Future
  6. Love or Lust (Guest Artist Richard Dennison)

Listen to Parton’s latest female empowerment anthem here: