Dolly Parton Releases First Song From Upcoming 'Run, Rose, Run' Album

We Are Family Foundation Honors Dolly Parton & Jean Paul Gaultier

Photo: Getty Images

Dolly Parton has new music on the way — and she just released the first song on her next album!

The country music icon announced that she’d release “Big Dreams and Faded Jeans” on Friday (January 14). The song serves as the first offering from Parton’s upcoming album, Run, Rose, Run. The collection goes hand-in-hand with the co-authored book with James Patterson, Parton announced. “It’s been wonderful making these stories come to life through music!” The Run, Rose, Run album is due out March 4, and the novel will follow on March 7.

“So many people come to Nashville with their sack of songs,” Parton said in a statement. “Whether they're running from anything or not, they're running towards a future. That's what 'Big Dreams and Faded Jeans' is all about. I am so pleased to finally share the first song from this exciting new album with all of you!”

Parton revealed in August that she would team up with the bestselling author to publish the novel, Run, Rose, Run, a fictional tale inspired by the “Jolene” artist’s experience in the music industry. “I cannot be more excited about the release of my very first novel,” Parton said, sharing a photo of herself with Patterson. “I also have a new CD to go along with the book, based on its characters and situations. I hope you enjoy the book and the songs as much as we’ve enjoyed putting it together.”

Parton will also team up with Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams again for the Run, Rose, Run album release, offering her “Dolly’s Strawberry Pretzel Pie” flavor. Some of the proceeds will go to The Imagination Library, Parton’s literacy program, and Jeni’s will also offer an exclusive edition of the digital album, which includes a bonus track, according to a press release. Listen to Parton's new song here:

Find the Run, Rose, Run track list here:

Side A:

1. Run

2. Big Dreams and Faded Jeans

3. Demons (with Ben Haggard)

4. Driven

5. Snakes In The Grass

6. Blue Bonnet Breeze 

Side B:

1. Woman Up and Take It Like A Man

2. Firecracker

3. Secrets

4. Lost and Found (with Joe Nichols)

5. Dark Night, Bright Future

6. Love or Lust (with Richard Dennison)