Elle King Reveals The Story Behind Her Album Title: 'Come Get Your Wife!'

Photo: Getty Images

Elle King is gearing up to release her newest album, and she shared the best story that inspired its title. Come Get Your Wife is slated to make its debut on January 27, 2023. King announced on Tuesday (October 11) that the project is “all about being who TF you are no matter if that makes others feel uncomfortable…” King explained that the album got its name because she was winning a game of pool when, “this person shouts — not at me, but over me — to my partner, ‘come get your wife!’”

“Remember that one time I was beating some a**hole at a game and he yelled, ‘Come get your wife!’ to my partner!?!? And I’m not even married! Lol. Thanks for the album title, babe,” King reiterated as she shared the track list on Instagram. “Each track comes from influences of all genres, and I now know country music is where I belong.”

The 12-track collection includes a few previously-released songs, including “Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home)” with Miranda Lambert and “Worth A Shot” featuring Dierks Bentley. See the full list here:

  1. Ohio
  2. Before You Met Me
  3. Try Jesus
  4. Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home), with Miranda Lambert
  5. Lucky
  6. Worth A Shot, feat. Dierks Bentley
  7. Tulsa
  8. Crawlin’ Mood
  9. Bonafide
  10. Blacked Out
  11. Out Yonder
  12. Love Go By

“It’s important for me to always remember where my family is from and where my family still is… that’s home, for me,” King explained. “I know a lot of people have a lot of different perceptions of me, and they might be right. I don’t know. I don’t have anything to prove to anybody. I mean, I can’t control what people think, and most people are right about a lot of stuff. They just don’t know really where I’m from.”

Though King loves pop and rock music, but she’s drawn to country: “Now, I understand that I have all of these influences and all of these things to make me this type of performer and songwriter, and now a producer. But all I can say is that this is what it is to me. This is what country is to me. And this is what makes me feel a certain way.”

Listen to “Worth A Shot” featuring Dierks Bentley below. Listen to “Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home)” with Miranda Lambert here.

“Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home)” with Miranda Lambert