Lainey Wilson Gets Nostalgic About Her First Love On 'Watermelon Moonshine'

Photo: Getty Images

Lainey Wilson kicked off the weekend with the release of a nostalgic, “coming of age ballad” that reflects on a first love, locking on the memory marked by a mason jar of “Watermelon Moonshine”: “Too young to know what love was/ But we were learning on a sweet buzz/ There’s never nothin like the first time/ Mines always gonna taste like… watermelon moonshine.”

Wilson has teased the single several times on her social media channels, sharing snippets as she hinted at her forthcoming album announcement when she said she has she has “some more big news to share with y’all.”

“Watermelon Moonshine” is the second song to release from Bell Bottom Country, Wilson’s sophomore album following her debut project Sayin’ What I’m Thinkin’, which included her smash-hit single, “Things A Man Oughta Know.” Bell Bottom Country’s name was inspired by Wilson’s unique sound and style, calling it: “Country, but with a flare.” Listeners can expect the Louisiana native to infuse the project with “elements of ‘70s Rock, Funk and Soul but remains Country to the core,” reads a press release detailing the 14-track project.

“I've lived quite a bit of life the past few years, and I have a lot more to say,” Wilson said. “Sure, I love a good pair of bell bottoms, but Bell Bottom Country to me has always been about the flare and what makes someone unique — I have really embraced mine, and I hope y’all can hear that across this project.”

Wilson co-wrote all of the tracks on Bell Bottom Country, with the exception of one cover song. The reigning iHeartRadio Music Awards’ Best New Country Artist has created a project that “…displays Lainey’s immeasurable growth as person, artist and especially as a songwriter that has leveled up since writing the last album.” See the full track list here:

1. “Hillbilly Hippie” (Lainey Wilson, Terri Jo Box, Jeremy Bussey)

2. “Road Runner” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson)

3. “Watermelon Moonshine” (Lainey Wilson, Jordan Schmidt, Josh Kear)

4. “Grease” (Lainey Wilson, Jessi Alexander, Andrew Petroff)

5. “Weak-End” (Lainey Wilson, Nicolette Hayford, Faren Rachels)

6. “Me, You, and Jesus” (Lainey Wilson, Emily Weisband, Dallas Wilson)

7. “Hold My Halo” (Lainey Wilson, Derek George, Monty Criswell, Lynn Hutton)

8. “Heart Like A Truck” (Lainey Wilson, Dallas Wilson, Trannie Anderson)

9. “Atta Girl” (Lainey Wilson, Dallas Wilson, Brett Tyler)

10. This One's Gonna Cost Me” (Lainey Wilson, Nicolette Hayford, Faren Rachels)

11. “Those Boots (Deddy's Song)” (Lainey Wilson, Terri Jo Box, Trent Tomlinson)

12. “Live Off” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Adam Doleac)

13. “Wildflowers and Wild Horses” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Paul Sikes)

14. “What’s Up (What’s Going On)” (Linda Perry)

“Watermelon Moonshine” is the latest Bell Bottom Country track to release since “Heart Like A Truck,” Wilson’s empowering anthem about overcoming challenges and moving forward: “But when you get through it, you’re stronger and better for it on the other side. Nothing can hold me back from moving forward and finding a way to enjoy life, no matter what. I hope this song reminds y’all of that.”

Bell Bottom Country is due on October 28. Listen to “Watermelon Moonshine” here: