Carrie Underwood Surprises Fans With 'Denim & Rhinestones' Track List, Song

Photo: Getty Images

Carrie Underwood is full of surprises… The powerhouse country artist revealed the Denim & Rhinestones track list and released the title track on Friday morning (April 8). She explained that her highly-anticipated new album is one that will “cover a lot of ground.”

“We have a lot of songs that could be kind of considered ‘throwback’ type songs, but they sound so super fresh,” Underwood explained in a trailer for her 12-track album. “These are just influences that are in me and work their way out, and I just decided this time not to get in my way. I feel like this one ended up being a bigger reflection of me as a person, as an artist. I grew up listening to so many different kinds of music. I feel like that is extremely evident in this body of work.

“We weren’t trying to do anything,” she added. “We just wanted to go in and see what happened. I really just wanted to make an album that just felt like fun.” Watch the trailer here:

Underwood already released “Ghost Story” after a few weeks of teasing fans that she’d “been busy, for sure.” The haunting first taste of Denim & Rhinestones is one that serves as “a really powerful revenge song… But this time instead of smashing his headlights with a baseball bat, she’s just going to haunt his every waking moment. She’s not just the one that got away, but she’s the one that he cannot forget.”

Now, “Denim & Rhinestones” is giving fans an “80’s vibe,” and they’re loving it. “Here’s a sneak peek at the track list from my new album Denim & Rhinestones! Pre-order now to get two songs instantly,” Underwood captioned her post. See the full track list here:

  1. Denim & Rhinestones
  2. Velvet Heartbreak
  3. Ghost Story
  4. Hate My Heart
  5. Burn
  6. Crazy Angels
  7. Faster
  8. Pink Champagne
  9. Wanted Woman
  10. Poor Everybody
  11. She Don’t Know
  12. Garden

Underwood is one of many artists included in the star-studded lineup at the iHeartCountry Festival presented by Capital One, set for May 7 in Austin, Texas. Fans can tune in and stream the 2022 iHeartCountry Festival on iHeartMedia's Country music radio stations in local markets across the country, as well as on and the iHeartRadio app on May 7th at 8pm ET/5pm PT (7pm CT). Tickets are on sale now via

Listen to “Denim And Rhinestones” here: