Jake Owen To Kick Off 'Loose Cannon' Era With 4 'Bangers' From The Album

Photo: Matt Paskert

Jake Owen is slated to kick off the holiday weekend with four new tracks from his forthcoming studio album, due out next month. The country star made the announcement on his Instagram story on Wednesday morning (May 24), and posted an acoustic rendition of the project’s title track.

Loose Cannon, Owen’s highly-anticipated seventh studio album, is set to debut on June 23, just over four years since Owen’s last full-length project, Greetings From…Jake. Owen will release four songs — “On The Boat Again,” “Solo, Solo,” “Nothing,” and “Hot Truck Beer” — from the 16-track album on Friday (May 26), just in time for Memorial Day weekend. Owen said on his Instagram story he's “excited for you all to get some bangers for Memorial Day weekend, start cranking them on the boat.”

Owen’s soon-to-release project promises “summertime staples with sunshine-soaked lyrics,” remaining true to his signature style with nods to classic country music, per a press release issued Wednesday morning. Some of the powerhouse songwriters to appear throughout the track list include Ashley Gorley, Brent Cobb, Rodney Clawson, Jessie Jo Dillon, Luke Laird, Jordan Davis, Devin Dawson, Walker Hayes, Jordan Fletcher, Hunter Phelps and others.

  1. “Hot Truck Beer” (Jordan Fletcher, Jim McCormick, Austin Nivarel)
  2. “Go Getter” (Brent Cobb, Jake Mitchell, Aaron Ratiere)
  3. “Solo Solo” (Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Blake Pendergrass, Hunter Phelps)
  4. “On The Boat Again” (Willie Nelson, Devin Dawson, Kyle Fishman, Rocky Block, Blake Pendergrass)
  5. “Hearts and Habits” (Thomas Archer, Jamie Moore, Jared Mullins, Ben Stennis)
  6. “When It All Shakes Out” (Jacob Davis, Jordan Dozzi, Josh Jenkins)
  7. “Hope Less” (Jared Mullins, Ben Stennis)
  8. “It Don't, He Won't and You Do” (Jordan Dozzi, Justin Ebach, Chase McGill)
  9. “Friends Don't Let Friends” (Jessie Jo Dillon, Hunter Phelps, Ben Stennis)
  10. “Boy In The Chevrolet” (Ashley Gorley, Taylor Phillips, Bobby Pinson)
  11. “Shrank” (Lalo Guzman, Walker Hayes, Hunter Phelps)
  12. “Nothing” (Dallas Davidson, Kyle Fishman, Earle Hagen, Reid Haughton, Herbert Spencer, Cole Taylor)*
  13. “Somewhere South With Rum” (Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins)
  14. “The Ending” (Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Chris Tompkins)
  15. “Hey Can I Buy You A Beer” (John Byron, Rocky Block, Travis Wood)
  16. “Loose Cannon” (Matt Roy)

All songs produced by Joey Moi
* co-produced by Kyle Fishman

“I can't wait to share this new wave of music with my fans,” Owen said in the press release. “This album is a long time coming and feels like the best version of me. Grab your buddies, put the boat in the water, pour a cold one out and we'll catch y'all out on the lake. It's the best time of year and we're ready to celebrate.” 

Listen to Owen’s acoustic rendition of “Loose Cannon” here: