HARDY & Lainey Wilson Win ACM For Their Compelling Storytelling Duet

Photo: Getty Images

HARDY and Lainey Wilson scored at least one ACM Award for their powerful collaboration, “wait in the truck.” The Academy of Country Music announced that the singing-songwriting duo won in the Visual Media of the Year category, ahead of the 58th annual ACM Awards on Thursday evening (May 11).

Wilson joined HARDY on the collaboration that depicts a murder after HARDY’s character encounters a woman, portrayed by Wilson, trapped in a toxic relationship. They shared the powerful storytelling song and music video in August, ahead of the release of HARDY’s half-country, half-rock album, the mockingbird & THE CROW. HARDY is also the winner in the Artist-Songwriter of the Year category, the Academy of Country Music announced on Wednesday evening (May 10).

HARDY and Wilson — both of whom are slated to perform during Thursday night’s show — were two of the most nominated artists at the 58th annual ACM Awards, appearing in several major categories (including Song of the Year, Music Event of the Year and others). See the full list of nominees here.

Dolly Parton is set to return to host Country Music’s Party of the Year, this time with fellow superstar Garth Brooks. The 58th ACM Awards will take place at Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas. It’s set for Thursday, May 11 at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT/5 p.m. PT.