Chase Rice Honors His Late Father With This Long-Awaited Project

Photo: Getty Images

Chase Rice revealed long-awaited details about his upcoming album on Thursday morning (November 17), including the title, the track list and the release date.

The country singer-songwriter is getting ready to release I Hate Cowboys & All Dogs Go To Hell on February 10, 2023. The 13-track project features previously-released fan-favorites, “Key West & Colorado” and “Way Down Yonder,” along with a reimagined version of “If I Were Rock & Roll,” according to a press release nano king Rice’s album. Rice’s latest collection of work honors his late father, Daniel Rice, whose photo appears on the cover of the album. Rice previously explained to iHeartRadio that the photo captures his dad, who died in 2008, on a trip to Wyoming in the ‘80s, donning a cowboy hat and holding a beer in each hand.

“My dad was one of those good guys you read about – tough, hardworking, always helping other people out,” Rice said in a statement. “I try to live my life in a way that would make him proud. I haven't always measured up to that, but I get closer to that man I want to be and the man he’d be proud of every single day.

“Making this album was a big step towards that musically, too,” he added. “Not only is it the most vulnerable I've ever been, it’s also something he’d enjoy listening to and is full of stories I wish I could tell him. I’ve always wanted to honor him by using this photo as an album cover, and I know this project is the one that deserves that. I can’t wait for y’all to hear it.”

1. Walk That Easy (Chase Rice, William Reames, Barton Davies, Jonathan Sherwood, Oscar Charles)

2. All Dogs Go To Hell (Chase Rice, Joshua Miller, John Byron)

3. Way Down Yonder (Chase Rice, Hunter Phelps, John Byron, Blake Pendergrass, Corey Crowder)

4. Key West & Colorado (Chase Rice, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder, Blake Pendergrass, John Byron, Hunter Phelps)

5. Bench Seat (Chase Rice)

6. Life Part Of Livin’ (Chase Rice)

7. Bad Day To Be A Cold Beer (Chase Rice, Blake Pendergrass, John Byron, Justin Thomas)

8. Oklahoma feat. Read Southall Band (Chase Rice, William Reames, Barton Davies, Jonathan Sherwood, Oscar Charles, Read Southall)

9. I Walk Alone (Chase Rice, Jaxson Free, Josh Hoge)

10. Sorry Momma (Chase Rice, Hunter Phelps, Ben Johnson)

11. If I Were Rock & Roll (Album Version) (Chase Rice)

12. Goodnight Nancy feat. Boy Named Banjo (Chase Rice, Oscar Charles, Barton Davies, William Reames, Jonathan Sherwood)

13. I Hate Cowboys (Chase Rice, Michael Hardy, Ross Copperman, Brad Tursi)

Rice previously told iHeartRadio that the production of his upcoming project was unique because it was written on an acoustic guitar and used one producer. His own home was the studio. Rice previously released “Key West & Colorado,” which tells the “story about a man trying to figure his life out,“ and the outlaw anthem “Way Down Yonder.” Listen to those songs again below.

“Key West & Colorado”