Carly Pearce, Ashley McBryde, Cody Johnson Revealed As Early CMA Winners

Photo: Getty Images

The Country Music Association revealed the award winners in two categories on Wednesday morning (November 9), ahead of the highly-anticipated 56th annual awards show. The winners were announced on Good Morning America.

Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde won in the CMA Musical Event of the Year category for “Never Wanted To Be That Girl,” the smash-hit heartbreak duet that the powerhouse singer-songwriters recorded for Pearce’s album, 29: Written in Stone, which released last year. Pearce gushed on Instagram on Wednesday morning that “this song means everything to me & seeing the life it has had this year has been so rewarding. Thank you [Country Music Association] for this. MUSICAL EVENT OF THE YEAR!!! 🥲♥️” McBryde added in a post of her own: “I woke up to a text from Carly this morning. HOT DAMN!! That’s a helluva way to start the day! Happy CMA day y’all!! Let’s gooo!!!!”

Cody Johnson was also announced as a winner in the Music Video of the Year category for his sentimental anthem, “’Til You Can’t.” Johnson, who recently shared a behind-the-scenes look at rehearsals for his performance during Wednesday night’s show, has previously opened up about what the song’s success means to him. He said, in part: “The road to this point hasn’t always been easy or fun, but something worth achieving is rarely an easy task. Thanks to everyone who has had a hand in making 'Til You Can’t' such a special song for me and my family. It means the world to us.”

Each artist is also up for a few other awards in other categories at the CMA Awards. See the full list of nominees here. Watch the 56th annual CMA Awards live on ABC on Wednesday, November 9 at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT. The show will be available to watch the following day on Hulu. Listeners can also tune in on iHeartRadio Country stations. Find more info on how to watch the CMA Awards here.