Jon Pardi Hides His Heartache As Everyone Calls Him 'Mr. Saturday Night'

Photo: Getty Images

Jon Pardi is hiding his heartbreak as he earns his nickname “Mr. Saturday Night.” Pardi released the title track of his highly-anticipated fourth album on Friday (July 22), a country heartache song that reminisces on an ex while he tries to get over the breakup with a good time:

“Yeah, they call me Mr. Saturday night/ Mr. always in/ Mr. never missed a good time/ I hear them say, I'm jealous of that guy/ But they've only seen me in a neon light/ Yeah, I smoke and drink/ Smile and wink/ And make 'em think I'm fine/ They don't know how much/ I missed her Saturday night”

Benjy Davis, Reid Isbell and Joe Ragosta wrote the song, according to a press release from Pardi’s record label. The track juxtaposes the “life of the party” with the “desolate guy who goes home to face what he’s lost.”

“I feel like everybody wants to be Mr. Saturday Night at one point on the weekend and have a good time,” Pardi said in a statement. “But then you hear the song and – the way it’s so well written – it’s a sad song, but you don’t go there right away, because it’s also a fun song. That’s the thing about ‘Mr. Saturday Night,’ it’s more than meets the eye. It’s all fun until you get to the chorus.”

Pardi announced on his social media channels on Thursday (July 21) that he would release “Mr. Saturday Night,” marking the latest song from his forthcoming album. He also shared the track list, which includes previously-released fan-favorites, “Last Night Lonely,” “Fill ‘Er Up,” and “Longneck Way To Go,” a collaboration with country trio Midland. Pardi recently kicked off his “Ain’t Always The Cowboy” Tour, bringing Lainey Wilson and Hailey Whitters on the road with him as he continues to stir anticipation for his upcoming project.

Mr. Saturday Night is set to release on September 2. See the track list below. Listen to “Mr. Saturday Night” here:

  1. “Mr. Saturday Night” (Benjy Davis, Reid Isbell, Joe Ragosta)
  2. “Fill ‘Er Up” (Jon Pardi, Ross Copperman, Brice Long)
  3. “Last Night Lonely” (Jimi Bell, Joe Fox, Dylan Marlowe)
  4. “Neon Light Speed” (Andy Albert, Josh Dorr, Paul DiGiovanni)
  5. “New Place To Drink” (Jon Pardi, Jessie Jo Dillon, Luke Laird)
  6. “Your Heart Or Mine” (Bart Butler, Justin Ebach, John Pierce)
  7. “Santa Cruz” (Jon Pardi, Luke Laird)
  8. “Longneck Way To Go” (Midland featuring Jon Pardi) (Rhett Akins, Jess Carson, Cameron Duddy, Ashley Gorley, Mark Wystrach)
  9. “Raincheck” (Will Bundy, John Edwards, Michael Tyler)
  10. “Workin’ On A New One” (Jon Pardi, Rhett Akins, Luke Laird)
  11. “Hung The Moon” (Will Bundy, John Morgan, Jameson Rodgers)
  12. “The Day I Stop Dancin’” (Bart Butler, Justin Ebach, Josh Thompson)
  13. “Smokin’ A Doobie” (Jon Pardi, Rhett Akins, Luke Laird)
  14. “Reverse Cowgirl” (Zack Dyer, Joe Fox, Jared Scott)