LeAnn Rimes Strives For 'Community And Connection' On Soulful Collaboration

Photo: Norman Seeff

LeAnn Rimes released a new track from her upcoming album, god’s work, and the country music icon teamed up with three other artists on the soulful new song. Ziggy Marley, Ledisiand Ben Harper collaborated with Rimes on “the only,” which debuted on Friday (May 20).

Rimes wrote and produced the “feel-good World Americana-Reggae blended track” with longtime collaborator, Darrell Brown. Rimes said in a press release that it’s “an honor to have such a unique and diverse group of artists joining me on this song. Artists of like mind and heart that are also spreading a message of love in the world. ‘the only’ really is all about community and connection, so I felt inspired to create the track in community with those I deeply admire and respect.”

Last month, Rimes explained that god’s work is a collection that “is beyond special to me and we have carefully curated every step of this process, like never before. i can’t wait for this new music to be in your speakers and more importantly, your hearts.” The project is one that intentionally leans on all-lowercased letters, because, Rimes explained: If we’re arguing about why the ‘g’ is or isn’t capitalized, we’re missing the whole point. It’s so important for us to focus on the messages, rather than the nuances.” See the full track list here:

  1. spaceship
  2. the only (Ft. Ziggy Marley, Ledisiand Ben Harper)
  3. awakening
  4. how much a heart can hold
  5. throw my arms around the world
  6. the wild (Ft. Sheila E. and Mickey Guyton)
  7. innocent
  8. god’s work (Ft. Robert Randolph, Mickey Guyton, and Tata Vega)
  9. something better’s coming
  10. imagined with love
  11. there will be a better day
  12. i do (Duet by Aloe Blacc and LeAnn Rimes)

Rimes, who recently celebrated 25 years as a recording artist, will release her album on September 16. Listen to “the only” here: