Walker Hayes Teams Up With Jake Owen, Carly Pearce & More On New Album

2021 American Music Awards - Fixed Show

Photo: Getty Images

Everyone knows Walker Hayes is “bougie like Natty,” and now, the singer-songwriter is showing off his chops on his new full-length album.

Hayes released Country Stuff The Album on Friday (January 21). The 13-track collection includes the Grammy-nominated hit “Fancy Like,” one of his latest TikTok-dance-worthy songs “AA,” and others. It also includes collaborations with contemporary Christian band MercyMe, “Down To The Honkytonk” singer Jake Owen, Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Lori McKenna and reigning CMA Female Vocalist of the Year Carly Pearce.

Appearing on The Bobby Bones Show, Hayes talked about everything from his viral fame after nearly two decades of pursuing his country music career, to his new music, to his family. Hayes opened up about his relationship with his father, and recalled the moment he got to play “Briefcase,” the collaboration with McKenna, for him. Hayes’ father was sick in hospice care at the time, and has since passed away. Though he struggled to remember his son, Hayes’ father enjoyed the song, he said.

Hayes’ fanbase grew exponentially over the last year with the release of “Fancy Like,” a song that Hayes previously described to iHeartRadio as “a love song for dudes with a mortgage and kids, and I love that. That’s a lot of people like me. There’s a lot of people out there who can relate.” He even put a new spin on it by releasing a cross-genre remix and music video with Kesha, a pop giant he said was “amazing” to work with. “My wife and I, we got to hang out with her the day we made the video and just, we fell in love with her just as a person. She’s so sweet and down to earth and was such a joy, pleasure to work with. I hope my kids get to meet her sometime. We talk back and forth about her coming to Nashville, I’d love to have her out to the house.”

Hayes followed it up with “AA,” and quickly became “obsessed.” Next, he’s setting his sights on an upcoming tour and publishing his book. Until then, check out the track list of Country Stuff The Album below. Listen on iHeartRadio here.

  1. Drinking Songs
  2. AA
  3. Life With You
  4. U Gurl
  5. Delorean
  6. Fancy Like
  7. Craig (feat. MercyMe)
  8. What You Don’t Wish For
  9. Country Stuff (feat. Jake Owen)
  10. I Hope You Miss Me
  11. Briefcase (feat. Lori McKenna)
  12. Make You Cry
  13. What If We Did (feat. Carly Pearce)