Jimmie Allen Recruits Jennifer Lopez For Cross-Genre Collab

Photo: Getty Images

Jimmie Allen and Jennifer Lopez are joining forces for a cross-genre collaboration that has fans begging for the song to release. “On My Way” is set to drop on Friday (May 27). The duet is one of the tracks included on Allen’s soon-to-debut album, Tulip Drive.

The “Freedom Was A Highway” singer took to his social media channels on Sunday (May 22) to stir anticipation for his announcement on Monday morning (May 23). Allen shared the single artwork, covering J. Lo with a siren and other graphics. “I’ve been a fan of this artist for a long time,” he shared in his caption. “Still can't believe we have a song together.”

Allen’s vague teaser spurred guesses from Twitter users, though the names appeared to stay within the country genre. Guesses included “Heart Like A Truck” singer Lainey Wilson, Allen’s future tour mate Carrie Underwood, and “It Was Me” singer Lauren Alaina.

Knowing that Allen’s mystery duet partner is Lopez — the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards icon award recipient — fans gushed with excitement. They wrote in comments on Instagram: “👏👏whoa. Never would of expected that! Really neat. Can’t wait to hear it ❤️🙌,” “What?!?!?! Look at you! 🔥,” and recording artist Melinda Doolittle wrote, “Ummm…sir…WHAT?!?! Love to see it!”

Allen, who also released a collaboration with fellow country artist Dylan Scott, previously announced that his full album is set to release on June 24. He explained of the project’s name: “Tulip Drive is the street my grandmom lived on in Delaware. This is the first where I chose to write songs about my own personal experiences, thoughts and hopes. Hope y’all enjoy it.” Here’s the full Tulip Drive track list, per a press release on Monday:

  1. be alright (Jimmie Allen, Jason Evigan, Gian Stone, Castle)
  2. what i'm talkin bout (Zach Abend, Michael Hardy, Seth Ennis)
  3. kissin you (Jimmie Allen, Ashley Gorley, Zach Crowell)
  4. down home (Jimmie Allen, Rian Ball, Cameron Bedell, Tate Howell)
  5. settle on back (Jimmie Allen, Tate Howell, Trip Howell, David Pramik)
  6. pesos (feat. CeeLo Green & T-Pain) (Jimmie Allen, Edward Martin, Vincent Venditto, T-Pain, Thomas Callaway, Yannique DeLisle Barker, Chris Doyle, J. ”Lonny” Bereal)
  7. love in the living room (Jimmie Allen, Jesse Frasure, Brandon Day, Alysa Vanderheym, Cary Barlowe) 
  8. on my way (Jimmie Allen & Jennifer Lopez) (Ivy Adara, Leroy Clampitt, Michael Pollack)
  9. broken hearted (feat. Katie Ohh) (Jimmie Allen, Ashley Gorley, Will Weatherly)
  10. habits & hearts (Steven McMorran, Derrick Southerland, Jess Cates)
  11. right now (Jimmie Allen, Matt Rogers, Jordan Schmidt)
  12. wouldn’t feel like summer (Alysa Vandereheym, Matthew McGinn, Jimmie Deeghan)
  13. undo (Matt Rogers, Matt McVaney, Daniel Breland)
  14. get you a girl (Jimmie Allen, Justin Ebach, Matt Jenkins)
  15. keep em coming (Jimmie Allen, Brad Tursi, Will Weatherly)
  16. every time i say amen (Travis Hill, Jon Nite, Ross Copperman)
  17. you won’t be alone (feat. Aadyn) (Jimmie Allen, Justin Ebach)

See Allen's announcement here: